Getting rid of Windows 7 HomeGroup

Homegroup is a Microsoft product that comes with Windows 7 and is turned on by default even though you don’t need it.

It is purely there to accomodate easier sharing between windows 7 machines on a local network but you can do that anyway using mapped drives between machines or to a NAS drive and/or replication.

It also uses up resources on your PC and I have found causes problems with wifi connected devices.

So, if like me you like to control things yourself then to get rid of homegroup:

  • Goto to Network and Sharing Centre in control panel.
  • Select Choose Homegroup and Sharing Options.
  • If it states you are part of a Homegroup then select leave Homegroup.

You might also want to check your advanced sharing options at this point:

  • Select Change Advanced Sharing settings…
  • Expand the Home or Work option.
  • Network discovery should be enabled.
  • Set Printer sharing as desired.
  • Turn off Public Folder sharing.
  • You should turn on encryption.
  • You should turn on password protection.
  • Use User accounts and Passwords to connect.

So far ok but you will probably notice that you still get the Homegroup option listed in the Explorer app – to get rid of that you need to stop the Homegroup services:

  • Got Administrative Tools under Control Panel
  • Select Services.
  • Find the Homegroup Listener and Homegroup Provider services.
  • Stop the service and set to disabled so that they do not turn on again.

The homegroup option should now have disappeared from the Explorer window.

 

Advertisements

Author: James

IT Manager - Network, Web coding, MS SQL and Online Mapping expert

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s